Earlier this year, I decided to really fully seek a full time commitment and relationship with God. I thought I was fully ready to step into this commitment with Christ, and part of me probably was. What I was not prepared for was the actual results of what this decision would look like. I knew it was great, as I have experienced before and heard so much about, but God still continued to surprise me.

When I was figuring out how to be more committed, I decided to meditate and rest on the thought of having the faith of a mustard seed. That visual stuck out so well to me, because, at the time, I felt that my faith was small. But in what I thought was my weakness, I saw my faith being compared to a seed. If you don’t know, look up the size of a mustard seed. Even if you do know, look it up again. Look at how little it truly is. It’s tiny!! And when I looked that up, it represented how much faith that I felt I had.

I have this one friend and in a passing period we talk about weird and random things, normally really deep thought provoking stuff about either time, or life, or space. And around the time I was dwelling on the mustard seed, we had a discussion about size and how human concept of size is different than other animals or weird things like that. But that got me thinking about the size of a mustard seed. One tiny seed, compared to my room. One tiny seed, compared to my school. One tiny seed, compared to my city. One tiny seed, compared to the country. One tiny seed, compared to the hemisphere. One tiny seed, compared to the Earth. It keeps seeming smaller and smaller in a world that gets bigger and bigger.

But thats how beautiful this whole metaphor is.

Every so often, when I see a verse I like, or hear a thought provoking phrase, I find or edit a picture to set as my lock screen on my phone. I normally keep it there until A) it doesn’t as closely apply to me or B) I get so used to unlocking my phone I forget about the picture there. During this whole process with me thinking about the mustard seed, I had a phrase really stick out to me.

Lord, show me what You can do.

Lord, show me what You can do!!

That little phrase holds so much power. Ever since, that has become my cry to the Lord. A full surrender. So I, with what I thought was my tiny faith, held onto my cross, and waited in eager expectation to see what God had in store for me.

And since then, I have been Blessed Beyond Belief. (Another lock screen phrase I’ve had. I’m all about alliteration.) I’ve been completely awestruck by the wonders and glories of the Lord. I’ve felt joy unequal to anything before. I’ve felt peace. I’ve felt true God given happiness. I’ve felt the Lord’s presence closer to me than my own skin. I’ve seen how God can use me to share with others. I’ve seen how God has blessed me with people in my life. I’ve had my perfect, thought through version of my future uprooted. I’ve been able to see where I should go. I’ve been able to talk about the Lord and see Him in every aspect of my life. I’ve been showered in riches and blessings. I’ve seen all of my needs met. I’ve been able to use what I have to help others. I’ve been blessed with great and growing friendships. The list goes on.

I guess what I’m really trying to get at, don’t give up. You may have the faith the size of a mustard seed, but you don’t need more than that for God to happen. He will take whatever you do have, and multiply it all. Believe that God can change your life. Believe that He can take something the size of the mustard seed, in a huge world, and do something with it. Cry out to the Lord. Challenge Him. Look for Him. Ask Him to show you what He can do. Watch and witness His hand in action.

Matthew 17:20 “He replied, ‘… Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.’ ”

Leave a comment