Well, it’s happened! My junior year of school has begun! And so far, it’s been great! However, with a new school year comes new classes, and with that, the awkwardness and stress of walking into a new classroom. Well, maybe it’s just me, who struggles to deal with social situations, but walking into a new class is the worst part of the new school year.

But as I’ve leveled my way up in the game of high school, I’ve noticed something. When I am in a position of authority and responsibility, my nerves fade. There’s something about having a small bit of power that lets me become myself and be far more comfortable than I was before. And I’m sure, this may be the same for other people as well. For some of you, it may not be a new classroom, but a new workplace. Or possibly, the same workplace and setting that you’ve been used to for a long time. But still, you may struggle with being yourself outside of your comfort zone.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, as I have gained leadership positions I noticed the change of my own attitude. I’ve been trying to think of ways that I could be more comfortable with myself in other situations where I am equal with my peers. It’s made me wonder ‘What about having a leadership position makes me able to be myself?’ or often, ‘Am I just being selfish and saying I need responsibility and power or else I can’t function?’

Then I remembered something that I’ve heard a lot lately, and definitely not by coincidence.

God has given us His authority.

We are God’s disciples. We are the ones that God has chosen to go out and share his love. We are the ones He gave the responsibility to share about God where ever we are, and whoever we are with.

In fact, when God created the first humans, Adam and Eve, He blessed them then said to them “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth” (Genesis 1:28). The first thing God did was to instruct us to rule over the world. Even though the world was corrupted by sins, His request still stands.

Later, Jesus is speaking to his disciples, sending them out to talk to the people along the route Jesus was planning on visiting. He “gave them authority to drive out impure spirits and to heal every disease and sickness” (Matthew 10:1). And that, they do. With God’s power, they came back to Jesus and proclaimed how “even the demons obeyed [them] when [they] used Your name!” (Luke 10:17).

All of these amazing things happen when we embrace the power that we as Christians have. To me, this means I am no longer just a student in a class, there simply to get a grade. But now, I am an ambassador of Christ, with a task and a responsibility to shine God’s light.

This thought has been resonating with me in the last week or so, and I have noticed the change. I’ve had moments to express myself as a Christian and start good friendships. I have felt times of overwhelming peace and a new type of energy. This week, God has opened so many opportunities for me to use my gifts for Him and He allowed me to connect with Him and others more fully than before.

My prayer for you is to be fueled by His Spirit and the power that He gives us to go out and do His work. Go out utilizing and demonstrating the authority that you have been given through Christ.

Acts 1:8: “You will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

2 thoughts on “Authority in Christ

Leave a comment