A while ago I read the book 13 Reasons Why, unaware of the impact it would have on my life.

13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher is a fictional novel that tells of the events leading up to the suicide of Hannah Baker. The story follows a boy, Clay, listening to the cassette tapes she left behind explaining her reasoning for ending her life. Throughout the novel, Clay is confused on why he is receiving the tapes and why he is a reason for her suicide.

This novel really effected me and made me reevaluate my life and my actions. Honestly, I think of myself as a good person and strive continuously to be the best I can be and become who God wants me to be. This book left me in a position where I can’t stop thinking  What if that person is depressed or having a bad day, and I added onto their problems? What this book has shown me is that even little things can hurt someone and when their life is already difficult, anything can add to the momentum and force them to make hasty decisions. In that mindset, action are multiplied.

I think about some of my role models. The people who I always see God in and the people who are what I wish to be. I wonder if they’ve ever thought of themselves in this situation or if they’ve focused on their actions. Because it can be the other way around as well.

Something small can really brighten someone’s day. I know that sometimes little nice things people have said to me have made me happy and changed my day, even if I was fine and didn’t need it. How amazing would it feel to know that something small you’ve done has been a ray of sun in their rainy day.
I feel like this is what God calls us to do. Again I think of my role models in my life and how they glow of Gods love and grace. Do they know they do? Do they know the little things they say make such an impact?

Still, all the time I’m looking around and wondering if anyone else shares my concerns. Could I be witnessing the fall of someone’s life? Am I just idling watching? Is there something I could be doing? In this mindset, I think about what God would want me to do. To love others as I would want to be loved. And ultimately how God would love them.

I guess what I’m trying to get out of this is, what if it is someone’s last day? Clay did nothing to make Hannah upset except not really be her friend. Is there someone who just needs a friend. What if they just need someone giving them a little bit of joy? What if they’ve made up their mind and decided it’s time to go? How are you playing into their life?

Leave a comment